1 Samuel 1:26b – 28a

Standard

“As surely as you live, I am the woman who stood here beside you praying to the Lord. I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of him. So now I give him to theLord. For his whole life he will be given over to the Lord.”

This verse has been on my heart. It comes up on Pinterest every now and again and I choke up every single time. I wake up thinking about it. It comes to mind at all times of the day. It’s always there. Pressing on my heart.

After two weeks of this, I finally told Hubs. (Sunday nights we ask each other for weekly prayer requests which is a new habit that I love.)  He said that God must be bringing this to mind for a reason. So I should pray about this verse as He leads me.

Hubs and I would like to have a big family. But we have also always said that we will leave our family planning in God’s hands. I could talk all day about this decision of family planning. There are lots of people who don’t get how we could just “give up” the control in this. But it’s not our decision. We could do everything right to conceive and it could never happen. I know people for whom this is true. And it’s sad, and scary, and confusing. All I know is that God has an individual plan for families for each of His beloved. So we leave it in His hands.

We are also at a point where we are ready for our family to grow. We are both very close with our siblings and we are sure that this due in part to our proximity in age. We would like to get pregnant in the near future.

So while we are as ready as possible, we know this in God’s hands.

But that doesn’t mean that the God of the universe isn’t interested in knowing what’s in our hearts. He wants to hear from me. He wants to know that even though I have faith in His timing to grow my family, that I still want to talk about it, ask for it, feel for it. He wants to be my best friend and confidant about this.

Would I get pregnant at some point if I didn’t heed this calling? I have no idea.

But I do know that when God places a calling on my heart, that I need to follow.

And so, I will pray for this child. I will pray for the conception, pregnancy, and arrival of this child.

I will (try to) patiently wait for this joyous event.

Our first beautiful bundle of joy. Our wonderful surprise blessing from 2011.

*Edit – more discussion on how this could mean lots of different things will be in tomorrow’s post. Also, for a little nostalgia, this post reminds me of this other post I did. 

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Babies on the Brain | Laughter and Rubies

Leave a Reply

