Aside

So I have a few things working against me when it comes to social media – 1. I really like multitasking. 2. I’m nosy as all get out. 3. I can easily justify things I like doing. 4. While I don’t have a smart phone, I’m home all day and so I just leave everything open and check it, ya know, whenever I have a minute, or walk by my computer, or eat, or sit down. 

 

Woah. This is getting out of hand. 

 

Hubs gently brought up the subject the other day. He agrees that my blog is a good outlet for a social person such as myself who is at home most of the time but that pinning all day and being on facebook when nothing changes isn’t actually doing anyone any benefits. 

 

Noted. So I started closing my computer when I walked away. Baby steps, but I couldn’t just shake the mouse to wake it up and it took some time to get on so I had to have a minute – when Lemonade went down for a nap, etc.

 

Then I read a great post on being a Stay-At-Home-Mom (SAHM) from Raising Godly Children which I have left open and re-read every day since I found it because I’m like – YES! Thank you! I will do my best with my kids as the Lord leads.

 

And then wouldn’t you know that Raising Godly Children would strike again with this statement this morning:

Dear Stay-At-Home Mom (SAHM), 

You have the best job in the world. In fact, you may have one of the most important jobs in the entire world! You’ve been called by God to be a mother to His little children. 

Please, stop wasting so much ti

me on the internet. You really don’t need to have 4,000 pins on pinterest. You don’t need to update your facebook status every 1/2 hour. Your friends don’t need to see updated photos of your children on instagram every day. Also, that blog you stated. You’re probably not going to get rich off of it….

This time with your children at home will fly by incredibly fast. I promise you, you won’t regret in 10 years not spending more time on social media. But you will regret wasting so much time on social media while your children were at home. 

I know your day is long. I know it can be boring at times. But just consider this. I’m not implying you should delete all your social media outlets, just manage your time better. It would be a shame if one of the lasting images of your child’s childhood is watching mother on the computer all day….

Thank you for everything you do!

 
 
Couple these together and add in the encouragement from Hubs and even when I want to veg in the afternoon for a little “me” time, I think I’m going to be more encouraged to pick up my crocheting than to get on Pinterest for an hour. 
 
 
God speaks beautiful truth to our hearts when we need it. 

SAHM and Social Media

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

